Skip to content

Apple crumble and vegan ice cream!

September 9, 2009

So, as far as I planned this blog to be about shit I make and bake, I haven’t managed to document much of that so far.   But I did make this awesome (so I’m biased here, but it was bloody tasty) apple crumble at the weekend:

It’s more quasi-vegan than semi-, it’s just served with vegan ice cream. I think I should’ve made it a proper vegan crumble though, to hone my skills a bit.  I’m not a person to do things by halves usually, but we’d just been past The Grocery on Kingsland Road with the intention of getting some ice cream, and, well, we just love Swedish Glace! It’s truly great non-dairy, gluten-free ice cream – it comes in a little hexagonal tub and you can also get it in Sainsbury’s, Teso and Asda.  Plus it fits very neatly into our ridiculously tiny freezerbox.  I didn’t find any soy spread in The Grocery to substitute the margerine, but whatevs.  So hence the quasi-vegan.  I adapted this recipe from what I think was originally a Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall one (when I say adapted, I mean ‘cut out the bits that I just couldn’t be arsed with or didn’t fancy making another trip to the shop for because I’m a lazy-assed mofo.’).  So check it out, yo:

  • 180g plain flour
  • 120g margerine (or soy spread, or unsalted butter)
  • 160g caster sugar
  • 1kg cooking apples (I got these off my dad’s tree)
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice (Jif, whatever)
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons water (you can usually find this in the tap! Crazy!)

Then you:

1. Preheat your oven to 180c/Gas mark 4.

2. Put the flour and butter in the bowl, and rub it together til it looks like coarse breadcrumbs.

3. Tip in 80g of the sugar and mix it with the crumbs.   Stick in fridge while you fanny about with the apples.

4. Peel and core the apples and cut the flesh into large chunks.  Put in a bowl and toss with the lemon juice, the remaining caster sugar (this should be 80g unless you’re a complete numpty) and the water.  Tip into a shallow oveproof dish (I used a 2 litre casserole dish).

5. Scatter the crumble breaddycrumby affair over the apples, squishing some of the crumble into small chunks.

6. Bake for 45 minutes, until golden.

Then serve with cream, custard or ice cream.

A few notes about what I adapted: the recipe also called for zest of half a lemon.  I couldn’t be fucked doing that, to be honest, despite having a lemon in the fridge.   My fridge occassionally gets to the point of housing only a bottle of white wine and an egg – however, this wasn’t the case this time, I really just didn’t want to waste a whole lemon on ‘the zest of half’.  Profound, no?  I also used cooking apples, rather than the Bramley eaters that the recipe called for.  The reason for this is that I wanted to use homegrown apples.  (So I didn’t produce the milk that made the marge, and I didn’t grow the lemon juice – and what?)  I believe in using cooking apples for cooking, and eating apples for… you get the idea, right?  Cooking apples can be very tart, but I think this is what stewed apples should be like.  This is also part of the reason I couldn’t be bothered with the lemon zest – it would have made it very tart indeed.  I guess if you use eaters like Bramley or Golden Delicious, you would probably need the extra lemon, because the apples would be lacking somewhat in flavour.

So, there you go.  Warning though – gives you wind!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

