Skip to content

A very short story of abject baking failure

April 20, 2010

If you have the River Cottage Everyday book by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, don’t make this chocolate and beetroot brownie.

I baked it and baked and it was still raw in the middle.

We ate round the outside though – the corners were quite cooked and tasty.

I don’t understand what was wrong with it but if someone knows, please tell me. This is the first time I made something that was more than 50 per cent inedible. But I’d also say that I don’t feel that beetroot and chocolate go very well together, despite the similarity to carrot cake.  The beetroot in this was already cooked too, and grated.  There was nothing in the recipe about drying it! Grated beetroot really didn’t seem that different to carrot.

I’m a bit sad – it’s been a good few years since I’ve had such a complete and epic baking disaster.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 12:20 pm

    oh no! the pictures look like the brownies would be delicious. but 50% inedible? thats not good! i wonder what hugh put in the recipe to make it not bake properly….

    and in answer to your question I used a normal point and shoot digital camera but i have a secret friend called rollip.com who helps me make my photos look how they do 🙂 shhh dont tell anyone.

  2. April 21, 2010 9:48 am

    Is the baking tray silicon? That may well be your problem… We occasionally have issues with ‘chicken’ style nut roasts as the tray doesn’t get hot enough so the nut roast ends up squishy rather than crunchy.

    • threadandburied permalink*
      April 21, 2010 12:01 pm

      Yeah. But everything else I cook in silicon has had no problem! Eeep.

Leave a Reply

