Skip to content

White chocolate and rosewater cupcakes

August 13, 2010

I made these a bit ago while my husband was on his stag do: he doesn’t like floral cakes so it was a good time for experimenting.  It was a genuine experiment, as I couldn’t find a recipe for them, so instead substituted one of my chocolate recipes with a dose of white chocolate powder that I’d bought from Whittards and added the rosewater instead of a dash of milk.

I gave a bunch of them to my girl Adrienne, who loves things that taste of flowers, and then we got pissed on Galliano shots  (sort of tastes like flowers) and strawberry balsamic martinis.  These cakes were a weird one, the flavour was quite good and not too rosy (my ol’ man actually really enjoyed them in the end) – the crumb was great if a little loose and moist, but the icing was an unmitigated disaster that needed hundreds and thousands sprinkling all over to keep it from running all over everywhere.

Do dat:

85g self raising flour

4 tablespoons of white chocolate hot chocolate powder

110g caster sugar

110g margarine

2 large free-range eggs

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 teaspoons of rose water

Mash together as you’d normally make a cake, and stick in your wee little oven at gas mark 3 for 25 minutes (mine is temperamental so sometimes I increase the time).

Don’t do dat:

200g icing sugar

50g white chocolate powder

100g butter or margarine

1 tablespoon of rose water

I don’t know if the rose water reacted to the fat, but the result was incredibly sloppy and no amount of sugar or powder could stiffen it.  Very strange.  Mayhap I should get busy on French meringue frosting next time, this buttercream bollocks has only worked out for me a few times and the rest of the time it’s real hit and miss.  Or mess.  Le sigh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

